MARNI SUMBAL

MARNI SUMBAL

Triathlete & Coach Jacksonville, FL

Birthday: 5/31/82

Nickname: Marn

Hometown: Currently living in Jacksonville, FL (From Lexington, Kentucky) but moving to Greenville, SC in May!

Years you’ve been in your sport: 8 years, top age group endurance triathlete

How many hours a week do you train? 12-18 

Favorite workout: In my final prep before an IM, I love the last few key workouts to put all the pieces together and to finalize fueling, pacing and mental strength. I also love climbing on my bike.

Favorite song/album to workout to: Anything with a good beat will get me going. I love to turn my music up before a workout.

Athletic accomplishment you are most proud of: Finishing every Ironman that I have signed up for and qualifying for the 2007 Ironman World Championships after finishing 1st age group (20-24) at my first IM (2006 IMFL). 2012 Branson 70.3 overall female amateur winner, 2012 Iron Girl Clearwater half marathon overall winner and 2014 HITS Ocala Half Ironman overall female winner.

Life accomplishment you are most proud of: Receiving my Master of Science degree in Exercise Physiology and going back to school to earn my Registered Dietitian credential. Welcoming my furry BFF Campy into my life in 2008.

If you could be a professional at any other sport, what would it be? Open water swimming or rowing.

What would your last meal be? Pizza and Carrot cake.

Favorite way to spend a Sunday: Training (after sleeping in) with my husband Karel, eating a yummy recovery meal and then relaxing while working on the computer for the Trimarni business (analyzing Training Peaks files for my athletes or helping athletes with nutrition.)

What would we find in your refrigerator right now? Lots of fresh food but with two athletes in the house, it all goes by quickly! Staples include milk, yogurt, eggs, cheese, tofu, tempeh, cooked grains and lots of fruits and veggies….and dark chocolate.

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would play the lead role? Ellen DeGeneres – I love her personality and she would understand me the best and my love for life and animals.

Three things we would find in your gym bag: Garmin 910XT, goggles, compression socks.

Favorite quote: “If it doesn’t challenge you, it doesn’t change you.”

Random fact about you: I have 11 holes in my ears for earrings and I have been a lacto-ovo vegetarian since I was 10 years old.

Why 110%?

I am a firm believer in quality training gear and compression has played a valuable role in progress and consistency as an athlete. I couldn’t ask for a better company to help me train smarter to train harder. Plus, I love anything in pink!